Pål Stenmark at the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Stockholm University, is awarded the prize for structural-biological studies of botulinum toxin. His work opens up opportunities for developing new muscle relaxant drugs.

Anna Överby Wernstedt at Umeå University receives the prize for her biochemical studies of viral infections. Her work is fundamental to our understanding of how the body defends against invading viruses.


Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg Foundation

The Foundation of Sven and Ebba-Christina Hagberg aims to stimulate and promote scientific research, preferably in the medical and biochemical field, and shares a personal prize and research support each year to a female and a male prominent young scientist in Sweden. Foundation grants and prizes go to different categories every two years. In nomination issues, the foundation collaborates with the Royal Academy of Sciences and Karolinska Institutet.

Sven Hagberg (1894-1961) was a civil engineer and a grain chemist. He developed a new method for measuring the baking properties of flour. The method, "Hagberg Falling Number", is used today worldwide. Ebba-Christina Hagberg (1900-1972) was involved in association work and shared her husband's interest in foreign cultures. The couple had no children and left their entire estate to the foundation, who every year awards a prize to two promising young scientists.