Foto: Niklas Björling
Hiranya Peiris Photo: Niklas Björling

About Hiryanya Peiris

The award in physics goes to Hiranya Peiris, a professor of physics at Stockholm University, who has, among other things, been interested in the very first moment of the universe. With the help of images from a new telescope in Chile, she now hopes that it will be possible to gain a greater understanding of the fundamental physics that guide the development of the universe - from the beginning to the present.


Foto: Niklas Björling
David Drew Foto: Niklas Björling

About David Drew

The prize in chemistry goes to David Drew, associate professor of biochemistry at Stockholm University, who studies how the transport of small molecules in the form of glucose and fructose takes place in and out of the human cell. With the help of better basic knowledge of how the process is going, he hopes that in the future it will be possible to develop new drugs.


Other award winners

The prize in mathematics goes to Elizabeth Wulcan, assistant professor of mathematics at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg. She uses tools from a mathematical area, analysis, to study issues in other areas - geometry and algebra.

The award in molecular biology goes to Taija Mäkinen, professor at the Department of Immunology, Genetics and Pathology at Uppsala University, who studies how lymph vessels are formed. The lymphatic system plays an important function in the body and is linked to a variety of disease states, but there are still gaps in our knowledge of its biology.

The prize in medicine goes to Petter Brodin, associate professor of immunology at Karolinska Institutet, who wants to learn more about the development of the immune system in newborns. The goal is to be able to improve the care of newborns and thus prevent children from developing allergies and autoimmune diseases.


The Göran Gustafsson Prize

The Göran Gustafsson Prize has been around since 1991 and behind the prize is the Göran Gustafsson Foundation for Natural Sciences and Medical Research. The foundation was created in 1989 following a donation from the entrepreneur and businessman Göran Gustafsson (1919-2003). Göran Gustafsson came from a small village outside Gällivare and made a fortune mainly through real estate deals. He was in many ways a forerunner of nature, worried about environmental degradation and wanted to give back to society.


Increased amount

Last year, the appropriations were increased and now they amount to SEK 5.1 million each, distributed over three years, and a personal price of SEK 250,000. The country's universities and colleges nominate candidates, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences examines the proposals and the award winners are then appointed by the Göran Gustafsson Foundation for Natural Science and Medical Research.