1. You are here:
  2. Start
  3. Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
  4. About us
  5. News
  6. Alexey Amunts receives the 2016 Lennart Nilsson Award

Alexey Amunts receives the 2016 Lennart Nilsson Award

For his pioneering work in the current “resolution revolution,” Alexey Amunts has received this year’s Lennart Nilsson Award. He is a researcher in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Stockholm University and head researcher at the Cryo-EM Laboratory at SciLifeLab.

Through Electron Cryo-Microscopy (cryo-EM), Alexey Amunts and his research group have developed a better understanding of the structure of different protein complexes. The end result is finely detailed three-dimensional modelling of some fundamental biological structures. These models provide crucial information about the structures and mechanisms that control the functioning of cells.

Amunts and his group have created pictures of the structural features of mitoribosomes, a protein complex involved in cancer cell metabolism. Mitoribosomes can be an “achilles heel” for tumours, and exploiting this weakness is a focus of cancer research. The group captured the first high-resolution image of a medicine binding to a mitoribosome, opening the door to the possibility of creating tailor-made drugs designed with the help of cryo-EM.

The Lennart Nilsson Award was founded in 1998 in recognition of world-famous Swedish photographer Lennart Nilsson and his work. The aim of the yearly, international award is to encourage visual and imaging techniques in education and research within the fields of medicine, biology, and engineering. 

Bookmark and share Tell a friend


Postal Address
Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics
Stockholm University
Svante Arrhenius väg 16C
SE-106 91 Stockholm

Visiting Address
Svante Arrhenius väg 16C

Billing Address
Stockholms universitet
190 87 Rosersberg

Reference: 431

Org. number

VAT number


Head of Department
Martin Högbom
+46 8 16 2110

Deputy Head of Department
Christian Broberger
+46 8 674 7292

Associate Head of Department with responsibility for undergraduate studies
Daniel Daley
+46 8 16 2910

Associate Head of Department with responsibility for SciLifeLab
Arne Elofsson
+46 8 16 1019

Director of Doctoral Studies
Pia Ädelroth
+46 8 16 4183

Director of Master's Studies
Anna-Lena Ström
+46 8 16 1267

Director of Bachelor's Studies
Pia Harryson
+46 8 16 4238

Alumni info