Information about the election for the Department Board at DBB for the period 20180101-20201231.

Background

From January 2018 DBB and the Department of Neurochemistry will be one department after the merger that is to be decided by the University Board at the meeting December 1. The period for the present members of the Department Board ends 171231, which means that there has to be an election for new members of the board. The election can however not take place before the decision by the University Board has been taken. In addition, the Vice-Chancellor will take a decision on a new composition of the board at DBB the same day. The number of members from the "teachers" will be increased by one, with the additional condition that one of the teacher representatives should have a neurochemistry background.

From 180101 the Department Board will have the following composition:

Head of department (automatic) 1
Vice-head of department (automatic) 1
Other teachers 9*
Technical/Administrative personnel 2
Students 3**

Total 15 (the majority should have scientific competence, i.e. a PhD degree)

4 substitutes for the teachers and 1 for the Technical/Administrative personnel should be elected.

- * At least one of these should have a background in neurochemistry.
- ** The Vice-chancellor recommends that representatives from all educational levels be elected.

The election process

The criteria for being eligible to vote is having a position appointed for at least two years, with activities at the department being at least 50 %. PhD students cannot vote. Shortly lists of those eligible to vote (*röstlängd*) and to be board members will be sent out. Both personnel from DBB and those presently at the Department of Neurochemistry will be included. The student representatives in the board are appointed by the Student Union at Stockholm University after nomination by the PhD council.

The Head of Department has appointed Elzbieta Glaser (elzbieta.glaser@dbb.su.se), Ann Nielsen (ann n@dbb.su.se) and Stefan Nordlund (stefan@dbb.su.se) to be the nominating committee (valberedning). Their task is to propose the members of the board and then there will be a period of free nomination, during which those who have the right to vote can suggest alternate members. However, everyone should feel free to already now suggest persons as board members, by contacting Ann for the Technical/Administrative personnel and Elzbieta or Stefan for the other group, which is

constituted of everyone that is not Technical/Administrative personnel or PhD students, e.g. researchers and professors.

The list of the board members proposed by the nominating committee will be sent out no later than November 27 and any suggestion of alternate members should be sent to Ann (TA personnel) or Stefan no later than December 6. The election will be electronic and open Monday December 11 and close at midnight Monday December 18. The result of the election will be published no later than December 20. There will be more information about the procedure in due time.

The present board members are:

<u>Regular</u> <u>Substitutes</u>

TeachersTeachersAgneta NorénErik LindahlArne ElofssonPål StenmarkBo LundgrenPia HarryssonDaniel DaleyAndreas Barth

Martin Högbom Martin Ott Mikaela Rapp Pia Ädelroth

Technical/Administrative personnel Technical/Administrative personnel

Peter Nyberg Maria Sallander Hellman

Alexander Tuuling

Present members can be reelected.

If there are questions please contact Ann, Elzbieta, Stefan or Lena (lenam@dbb.su.se), Head of DBB.